Andreas Wiborg wins Unibet Open London for £56,807

LONDON, UK – February 26, 2018 – Norwegian player Andreas Wiborg has won the Unibet Open London 2018 Main Event for a first prize of £56,807. The 22-year-old student from Bergen beat a tough field of 349 entries to take down the £990 event, the first of Unibet Open 2018.

Wiborg, who regularly qualifies for Unibet UK Poker Tour events, cut a heads-up deal with British player Jonathan Schuman to leave the trophy and £6,500 up for grabs. Just 30 minutes later the title, trophy and top prize were his. It was the 22-year-old’s biggest live cash to date but former results including a runner-up finish at Unibet UK Glasgow two years ago.

Wiborg is now the current front-runner for Unibet Player of the Year. The contest was launched during Unibet Open London and will involve players from both live and online events throughout 2018.

Unibet Open London took place at The Poker Room, above the iconic Grosvenor Victoria Casino in Edgware Road from February 22- 25. It was the tour’s seventh visit to the UK capital.

Wiborg, who hails from the beautiful city of Bergen on Norway’s fjord-studded southwestern coast, was only visiting London because one of his friends had won a Unibet Open package. However on Friday he decided he might as well buy in to the event himself.

Despite an unpromising start, the Norwegian managed to make it through the first two days. He started the final table as one of the shorter stacks but, as his opponents fell by the wayside, he was in good shape once play reached three-handed.

The final table, which was covered throughout on the live stream, was done and dusted after just seven hours of play. Among those who cashed in the event were French WPT National champion Laurent Polito, who was seventh for £9,850. Other notable players who made the money included Day 1a chip leader Clement Tripodi, who finished 12th for £4,760, Preben Stokkan, Nicolas Cardyn, Unibet Open Bucharest champion Marius Pertea and Yngve Steen.

There were 349 entries in total with 47 players getting a share of the £314,100 prize pool. The field included 180 players who won their £2,000 prize packages for the event online at

Final table results

  1. Andreas Wiborg, Norway, £56,807
    2. Jonathan Schuman, United Kingdom, £49,483
    3. Christopher Yong, United Kingdom, £28,080
    4. Honglin Jiang, New Zealand, £20,800
    5. Oliver White, United Kingdom, £16,000
    6. Jussi Vanhanen, Finland, £12,310
    7. Laurent Polito, France, £9,850
    8. Tony Blanchandin, France, £7,880
    9. Thomas Cazayous, France, £6,300

Among the big names who competed at Unibet Open London were numerous Unibet ambassadors including Irish Open winner Ian Simpson, Dara O’Kearney, David Lappin, Espen Uhlen Jorsad, Daiva Byrne and Rauno Tahvonen along with WSOP finalists Antoine Saout and Sylvain Loosli, two-time Unibet Open champions Mateusz Moolhuizen and Dan Murariu, Benny Glaser, Matt Perrins, former Hendon Mobsters Joe Beevers and Ross Boatman and the defending Unibet Open London champion Gerret Van Lancker.

The packed schedule at Unibet Open London featured a total of 17 different tournaments. As well as the £990 Main Event, there was also a two-day £2,200 High Roller won by Unibet Open Cannes champion Julien Sitbon for £41,850.

Brynn Kvinlaug won the Ladies Event for £1,400. The £110 buy-in tournament was hosted by Unibet Ambassador Daiva Byrne and attracted 51 entries. Daiva also enjoyed success during Unibet London when she chopped the £150 NL Turbo event on Friday with Israeli player Haim Hizky for £2,780. British pro Andy Hills took down the £300 Unibet Open Deepstack for £8,580 while Holland’s Thijs Molendijk won the special invitational “Battle Royale” freeroll for £5,000. Phil “syrinxx” Schoenebaum was runner-up for £3,000 and Scott “Sco” McMillan was third for £2,000.

Unibet Player of the Year
Andreas Wiborg is now in pole position on the brand new Unibet Player of the Year leaderboard. The POY contest will run throughout the 2018 and is the first involving players from both live and online events. Huge prizes are on offer including €2,000 Unibet Open packages as well as dozens of tickets for online satellites, entry into an exclusive draw and free entry into a €250 online freeroll. A spectacular Battle of the Champion’s play-off will take place early next year to determine the overall Unibet Player of the Year and will feature the top four live players from 2018, the top four online players and the leaderboard winner from the Unibet Deepstack Open.

Live players will be able to rack up points by entering any Unibet Open Main Event along with all Main Events during the Unibet Belgian Poker Championship, the Unibet UK Poker Tour and the Unibet Romanian Poker Series. As well as points for taking part, there will be additional points for everyone who cashes and further points based on performance.

Wiborg takes pole position in first Unibet Player of the Year contest.

Unibet Open London live stream
Unibet Open London was streamed throughout the event with commentator David Vanderheyden joined by numerous special guests. You can watch highlights on the Unibet Poker YouTube channel:

Players at the event were also treated to two great parties: a Welcome Drinks at The Draft House Paddington and the exclusive Unibet Open London Players Party at The London Reign Showclub in the heart of London’s West End.

Nataly Sopacuaperu, Unibet Open’s Head of Events and Sponsorship, said: “We’re delighted that the first Unibet Open of 2018 has proved such a success. Massive congratulations to our first champion! We’re also looking forward to seeing how players get on in the new Unibet Player of the Year contest. It’s the first time we have run a major leaderboard contest that involves players from both live and online event so it’s going to be fun seeing how that plays out throughout the year. Thanks to all the players who attended Unibet Open London as well as all the media, Unibet staff and fantastic team at The Poker Room.”

Unibet Open London history

2017: Gerret Van Lancker, Belgium won £71,950; 419 entries, £377,100 prize pool
2016: Dave Shallow, UK, won £62,000; 418 entries; £313,500 prize pool
2014: Iaron Lightbourne, UK, won £70,000; 399 entries; £319,200 prize pool
2012: Pratik Ghatge won £85,050; 315 entries; £78,000 prize pool
2010: Paul Valkenburg won £109,550; 273 entries; £255,000 prize pool
2009: Thanh Doan beat won £187,000; €584,910 prize pool

Forthcoming Unibet Open events
The next Unibet Open event will be in in Malta in May. Unibet Open Malta is being run in conjunction with Casino Malta and the Intercontinental Hotel from May 17-20. More details will be posted on the Unibet Open website shortly.

For full details for the Unibet Open London schedule, please see https://www; To view images from the event, please visit the Unibet Open Flickr channel.

About the Unibet Open
The Unibet Open is the hottest live poker tournament circuit in Europe, with ever-growing numbers of players from amateurs to professionals battling for six-figure prize pools in some of the continent’s most glamorous locations. Since 2007, the Unibet Open has been synonymous with a great poker experience – not only running the best tournaments with the Main Event regularly selling out above cap, but also taking advantage of amazing locations and making sure that every Unibet Open player has the time of their life.