Record prize of £80,200 for winner of Unibet Open London 2019

The 2019 Unibet Open London Main Event has broken records for the biggest field, biggest first prize and biggest prize pool.

There were a total of 456 entries into this week’s flagship £990 buy-in event, creating a total prize pool of £410,400 – a good £30,000 more than the tournament’s previous record achieved in 2017.

In addition to the prestigious trophy, this year’s Unibet Open London champion will walk away with a record £80,200 first prize. A total of 63 players will be paid out, with a minimum cash worth £1,800.

The festival is taking place May 22-26 at the Poker Room at the iconic Grosvenor Victoria Casino on Edgware Road. It’s the Unibet Open’s eighth visit to the UK capital.

A total of 141 players made Day 2 of the Main Event with Unibet ambassador Alexandre Reard the start-of-day chip leader. Still in contention – with just 87 players left – are Unibet’s Belgian ambassador Charlotte Van Brabander and Twitch streamer  Fabien ‘kiocsgo’ Fiey

There are 11 60-minute levels scheduled for today unless the final table of nine is reached earlier.

The Unibet Open Live Stream kicked off on Twitch and facebook at 14:30 BST. Also on today’s schedule are the £500 Unibet DSO, the £110 #QUEENRULES Ladies and the £220 Turbo Bounty. There are a dozen tournaments on the schedule overall.

Big names who competed in this year’s Unibet Open London include Unibet Ambassadors Ian Simpson, David Lappin and Espen Uhlen Jorstad plus two-time Unibet Open champions Dan Murariu and Mateusz Moolhuizen. UK stalwarts Jeff Kimber, Laurence Houghton, Willie Tann and James Mitchell also competed as did Martin Soukup, another two-time champion, who won the first Unibet Open of 2019 in Sinaia. The record-breaking field featured players from all over the world including some 160 qualifiers who won full prize packages online at Unibet Poker.

Unibet Open London history

2018: Andreas Wiborg, Norway, won £56,807; 349 entries, £314,100prize pool
2017: Gerret Van Lancker, Belgium, won £71,950; 419 entries, £377,100 prize pool
2016: Dave Shallow, UK, won £62,000;418 entries; £313,500 prize pool
2014: Iaron Lightbourne, UK, won £70,000; 399 entries; £319,200 prize pool
2012: Pratik Ghatge UK, won £85,050; 315 entries; £78,000 prize pool
2010: Paul Valkenburg, NL, won £109,550; 273 entries; £255,000 prize pool
2009: Thanh Doan, Finland, won £187,000; £584,910 prize pool