Who Will Win the 2017 Unibet Open Copenhagen Main Event?

Can Monica Vaka Become the First Female Unibet Open Winner?

At noon local time, Casino Copenhagen in the beautiful capital of Denmark welcomes back 13 players for the final day of the 2017 Unibet Open Copenhagen DDK 8,250 Main Event. It’s the 40th edition of the popular series, which is also in its jubilee tenth season. All remaining players have already locked up DDK 44,500 – roughly €6,007 – but all eyes are set on the massive first place prize of DDK 562,300 (€75,996).

Chipleader after two days of intense action is Monica Vaka. The Norwegian player needs one more pay jump to already claim the biggest cash prize of her career. Vaka’s run is made all the more impressive by the fact that she is seven months pregnant. Vaka starts from pole position with 1,881,000 in her quest to become the first ever female Unibet Open Main Event champion.

Behind Vaka, Poland’s Tomasz Kozub (1,754,000). Estonia’s Kaarel Lepik (1,632,000) and Faroese hopeful Sigurd Carlsson (1,469,000) also swing impressive stacks. Another dangerous contender is Peter Harkes, winner of 2011 Unibet Open Riga. Harkes starts with 747,000 on the final day and is just a double-up away from the top of the pack.

Day 3 Seating and Chip Counts

Table Seat Player Country Chip Count
9 1 Sigurd Carlsson Faroe Islands 1,469,000
9 2 Mikael Johansson Sweden 328,000
9 3 Deivis Rinkevicius Lithuania 459,000
9 4 Florian Lanz Switzerland 500,000
9 6 Soren Hansen Denmark 978,000
9 7 Monica Vaka Norway 1,881,000
9 8 Tomasz Kozub Poland 1,754,000
10 2 Kaarel Lepik Estonia 1,632,000
10 3 Thomas Ardai Romania 431,000
10 5 Martin Wendt Denmark 558,000
10 6 Mateusz Krzyzewksi Poland 333,000
10 7 Peter Harkes Netherlands 747,000
10 8 Jes Bondo Denmark 584,000

The action of the Main Event resumes with level 22 with blinds at 15,000/30,000 and a running ante of 4,000. A live stream of the feature table including hole cards will be available on a half hour security delay. The PokerNews live reporting team will be on the floor to provide around-the-clock coverage until a winner is crowned.